Have you ever hit a “Send” button in your email only to notice in a last minute that you forgot to attach a document, misspelled a simple word or just changed your mind all together?
It’s been a few months, I think, since Google has added a new feature in its arsenal of email tricks: a function, where you can stop the email you sent.
Here is how it works: once you finish writing your email and click “Send” button, you will see a yellow bar with the words “You message is being sent” and “Cancel”. Then it changes to “Undo”. At this moment you have 5 to 10 seconds to stop that email from being send. All you have to do is to click on “Undo”. The email you composed will come back on your screen (it will be in the “Draft” folder now) so you can correct and resend it, delete it, if you wish, or just leave it in this folder until you decide what to do with it.
If you don’t see the word “Undo”, when sending email, you should adjust your Settings for email. It’s easy: click on the word “Settings” (at the top of your screen for email). A new half-screen will be opened, where when you scroll down, you will find the action for the “Undo Send” and activate it by clicking on the box and choosing a desired time of 5 or 10 seconds. Save the changes. Then just go back to your email’s Inbox. A green “tree” symbol will appear next to “Settings”, indicating that you’ve activated 1 feature.
From now on you will be able to stop your email from being send any time you wish. Just don’t forget: you have only five to ten seconds to do it.
Friday, May 1st, 2009 at 9:53 pm
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.